Posts Tagged ‘PBWA’

Battier, Karl, Pacers honored by PBWA

Shane Battier and George Karl, two of the most loquacious and illuminating fellows in the NBA to step or sit in front of the microphones and cameras, were recognized officially for their chatty and cooperative ways Tuesday.

Battier, a veteran role player for the Miami Heat, was selected as the 2013 winner of the Magic Johnson Award, presented annually by the Pro Basketball Writers Association to a player who combines excellence on the court with cooperation with the media and fans. Karl, coach of the Denver Nuggets was named winner of the Rudy Tomjanovich Award, the PBWA’s coaching version that recognizes the same traits.

Also, the Indiana Pacers’ media relations staff became the first two-time winner of the Brian McIntyre Award, presented by the PBWA to the staff deemed most helpful to the media in anticipating and fulfilling coverage needs.

Battier was one of 12 players nominated for his award, including Heat teammates LeBron James and Ray Allen. Others nominated were Tyson Chandler of the New York Knicks, Jamal Crawford and Chris Paul of the Los Angeles Clippers, Kevin Durant of the Oklahoma City Thunder, Pau Gasol of the Los Angeles Lakers, Manu Ginobili of the San Antonio Spurs, Al Horford of the Atlanta Hawks, Dirk Nowitzki of the Dallas Mavericks and Zach Randolph of the Memphis Grizzlies.

The Magic Johnson Award is the longest-running honor from the PBWA, dating back to Allen in 2002-03. Among this year’s nominees, he and Durant are former winners.

The Rudy Tomjanovich Award was added in 2011, with Jerry Sloan as the inaugural winner. Boston’s Doc Rivers won in 2012 and was a nominee again this season, along with Scott Brooks of Oklahoma City, Rick Carlisle of Dallas, Doug Collins of Philadelphia, Larry Drew of Atlanta and Lawrence Frank of Detroit.

The Pacers, headed by media relations director David Benner, also won the McIntyre Award in 2011. Other staff nominated include Boston, Dallas, Detroit, Golden State, Milwaukee, New Orleans, Oklahoma City and Toronto. The Bucks won the award, named after longtime NBA publicrelations director Brian McIntyre, in 2012. The Warriors, Trail Blazers, Raptors and Suns staff are other past winners.

Pro Hoops Writers Honor 2012’s Top Work

The Professional Basketball Writers Association announced the winners of its annual writing contest at All-Star weekend. The top three finishers, as judged by an independent panel of journalists, were chosen in three categories – game stories, columns and features.

The PBWA also named new officers to two-year terms that run through All-Star weekend 2015. Mary Schmitt Boyer of the Cleveland Plain Dealer takes over as President, succeeding two-term predecessor Doug Smith of the Toronto Star. Josh Robbins of the Orlando Sentinel will serve as Vice President, replacing’s Steve Aschburner.

Recently marking its 40th anniversary, the PBWA was formally organized on Jan. 23, 1973, to address access and working-condition issues in members’ coverage of the NBA. It provides a network of men and women who cover the league, initially for newspaper beat writers but expanded through the years to include magazine and Web site reporters. The association handles the voting for the NBA’s J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award, and presents it own annual awards: the Magic Johnson (to a good player who is media-friendly), the Rudy Tomjanovich (to a head coach who meets the same criteria) and the Brian McIntyre (top team media-relations staff) trophies.

The 2012 contest winners are:


1st Place: Dave McMenamin, ESPN L.A., on Game 1 of the 2012 Western Conference semifinals, Lakers vs. Thunder.

2nd Place: Benjamin Hochman, Denver Post, on Carmelo Anthony‘s first game against his old Denver Nuggets mates.

3rd Place: Steve Aschburner,, on Game 7 of the 2012 Eastern Conference finals, Celtics vs. Heat.


1st Place: Ian Thomsen, Sports Illustrated, on LeBron James‘ championship redemption.

2nd Place: Kevin Ding, Orange County Register, on Jeremy Lin‘s impact on one child.

3rd Place: Fran Blinebury,, on Yao Ming‘s visit to Houston.


1st Place: Jonathan Abrams, Grantland, an oral history of The Malice at the Palace.

2nd Place: Kevin Arnovitz,, on Clippers’ general manager Neil Olshey.

3rd Place: Marc Stein,, on Steve Nash‘s move to the Lakers.