Analytics Art: Last 12 NBA champions

By Andrew Bergmann @dubly, for

last-12-championsWhen the 2014 NBA Finals conclude in about two weeks, seven of the last 12 NBA championships will have been won by the Spurs or the Heat.

The two teams have proven to be the overwhelming powerhouses of the last decade, taking over the traditional roles of the Los Angeles Lakers and Boston Celtics.

Here’s another simple graphic that I put together last year, taking a look at how the Celtics and Lakers have won more championships than all other teams combined.

Andrew Bergmann’s data driven design work can be found on CNN, NBA, Sports Illustrated, Deadspin, Washington Post, NPR and USA Today. See more on and

One Comment

  1. Lakers-Warriors-Suns says:

    Pointless Article